Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

M-1 Carbine

4 posters

Go down

M-1 Carbine Empty M-1 Carbine

Post by bombnut Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:59 am

I am just getting started with reloading. And seeing that .30 carbine ammo was hard to find before December, its near impossible now. So it’s just natural to want/need to reload it.
I was pretty successful with reloading/hand loading .45, so I'm moving on/ahead. I have the dies and shell plate, shells, bullets, and primers. Just hoping someone has powder one of these days. While I'm waiting on power I decided to build some dummy rounds for practice. I just can't get the bullet to stay in place. the slightest pressure, or at least enough to measure the length and the bullet falls.
That being said, I didn't crimp the bullet. I didn't know about the crimping dies ...until last week, and they (.38, .45, and .30 carbine)are inbound time now. Will that end my woes and make me a happy reloader?
Jeff

bombnut

Back to top Go down

M-1 Carbine Empty Re: M-1 Carbine

Post by hawcer Tue Apr 16, 2013 4:37 pm

The bullet, regardless of what caliber, should never fall into the case after the case has been resized. Neck tension alone should hold the bullet in place and should be somewhat tight in the neck.

Did you have your sizing die set correctly? It seems like the neck didn't get resized at all and is at the diameter a fired case would have.

make sure the shell holder contacts the ram when full length sizing.

Reloading a 30 carbine is really not that much different that reloading a 9mm or other small handgun cartridge....it just longer. Wink

Double check your settings and get back with us....it is very possible something isn't right with your sizing die.
hawcer
hawcer
Mod

Back to top Go down

Post by george457d Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:33 pm

I see you have a L-N-L ,the PTX die is purchased sepretly
http://www.hornady.com/store/PTX-Powder-Drop-Expander-.357-1-Each2/
george457d