Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

.223 Remington Bullet Seating Depth vs. Pressure

3 posters

Go down

.223 Remington Bullet Seating Depth vs. Pressure Empty .223 Remington Bullet Seating Depth vs. Pressure

Post by jpdeal Mon May 07, 2012 8:04 am

Newb question:

I just reloaded my very first batch of .223 Remington last night and plan on going to the range with them this afternoon. Being a beginner, I am somewhat apprehensive about actually pulling the trigger.

Last night I was triple-checking everything and noticed that I had seated my bullets slightly deeper than the minimum overall length. I realize this number is intended for loads with using the maximum recommended charge. I used the minimum charge for my loads, but am concerned about the seated depth, here is a snapshot of my load data:

Accurate 2230 powder, 21.2gr charge, 55gr Winchester FMJ-BT bullet, CCI small rifle primer, seated to 2.225 overall length, minimum overall length for max. charge of 26.1gr is 2.260.

I will be running these thru my Ruger Mini 14.

So, am I going to have a problem with excessive pressure?

Thanks!
jpdeal
jpdeal

Back to top Go down

.223 Remington Bullet Seating Depth vs. Pressure Empty Re: .223 Remington Bullet Seating Depth vs. Pressure

Post by Reload3006 Mon May 07, 2012 8:18 am

I would hazard a guess you are just fine. as long as the bullet doesnt fall in the case and you are not at max charge. Fire away. You are in safe territory.
Reload3006
Reload3006

Back to top Go down

.223 Remington Bullet Seating Depth vs. Pressure Empty Re: .223 Remington Bullet Seating Depth vs. Pressure

Post by hawcer Mon May 07, 2012 8:27 am

Doesn't the Win FMJBT have a cannelure? Kinda hard to mess the OAL up too bad unless your brass is trimmed more than normal. You should be ok...

Prime example of why one need to work up loads, not start at max.

hawcer
hawcer
Mod

Back to top Go down