Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

7.62x54r tracer projectiles

2 posters

Go down

7.62x54r tracer projectiles Empty 7.62x54r tracer projectiles

Post by MarksmanTim Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:52 pm

Hi guys,

This is my first real post. I've been reloading for about 2 years, but only recently started to load in this caliber, 7.62x54r. I am loading for my 9 Mosin Nagants, of varying type and manufacture. (carbine, rifle, Finn, Russian)

I recently acquired 300 green tip tracers. I weighed a few of them and they seem to be 150gr, even though I thought they were designated as 148gr. I guess it doesn't matter that much. I am looking for suggestions for good loads for these rounds. I would like to see them light off, but most of them will be used for punching paper during sunny days so it's not critical.

In this crazy world of mass shortages, right now I am limited to the following powders on hand: IMR4064, H335, H380.

I loaded 5 rounds this afternoon with 46gr of H380, and they went down range fine, lighter recoil, didn't light off (I don't think) BUT I think the primers backed out ever so slightly.

2 questions:

What is a good load to make these light off?

What is a good plinking load with these projectiles?

Thanks for your help!

MarksmanTim

Back to top Go down

7.62x54r tracer projectiles Empty Re: 7.62x54r tracer projectiles

Post by Reload3006 Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:22 am

IF you can find it you need a hotter burning powder such as WC844T the problem with tracer is you have to burn hot enough to set off the magnesium but not raise pressures to dangerous levels. The best way to do that would be with mil surp powder. The T designation will be for tracer. I would guess and its only a guess that you could pretty much use 308 load data and stay in safe pressure areas for you nagant.
Reload3006
Reload3006

Back to top Go down

Post by MarksmanTim Sun Apr 14, 2013 11:17 am