Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Custom order Lee sizing dies & custom order Lee molds group buy idea

5 posters

Go down

Custom order Lee sizing dies & custom order Lee molds group buy idea Empty Custom order Lee sizing dies & custom order Lee molds group buy idea

Post by scorge30 Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:44 pm

As I mentioned in another topic in another catagory - I have the Lee custom mold diagrams for the old Ranch Dog Molds forum.

While I failed to get the sizing die info, it is not hard to figure by looking at the mold diagrams.

I have been grinding my teeth for several years as the only one of these I managed to keep is the Lee .460 sizing die and the .45 cal mold designed for the .45-70 and the .450 Marlin.

All the molds and sizing dies were group buys done by Lee. If Lee still has the cherries from the molds, the tooling and set up fees may be reduced.

All the boolits cast from these molds were designed for lever action Marlin and other rifles but work well in any close range application. All cast boolits were designed to be tumbled lubed by the Lee method and resized in Lee sizing dies with gas checks from which ever manufacturer you chose but Hornady was the choice for us.

The idea was to keep costs down while still providing a custom bullet from a custom mold without requiring more expensive tools like a lubrisizer. I have shot thousands of these boolits in various hardness ratings and found all to very accurate.

My hope is to get enough interest here to order some of these sizing dies and molds again. I might consider loaning my .45 mold and sizing die, but am leery as I am afraid it might disappear with no way of me ever getting another. Now maybe if someone loaned me their 6.5 Grendel for collateral ....