Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

OAL Question

+2
Reload3006
akg20
6 posters

Go down

OAL Question Empty OAL Question

Post by akg20 Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:40 am

I'm new to reloading. I'm up to 10 rounds Very Happy It was something like 4.2 rounds an hour (don't tell Dillon, they'll take my SDB back...)

My question, is there an OAL rounding tolerance? I'm getting +/-.001, sometimes .002 or so on a 10mm.

Thanks.

akg20

Back to top Go down

OAL Question Empty Re: OAL Question

Post by Reload3006 Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:02 am

You are doing great. OAL on a hand gun IMO is not that critical. If it fits in your magazine and feeds in your gun your doing great. I honestly dont believe that it would make that much of a difference in Target rifle shooting either but a lot of us Hand loaders tend to be on the anal side. But plus minus a thou is even tight tolerance in the machine shop world if your holding tolerances that tight your doing amazingly well.
Good Luck and Happy shootn. Very Happy
Reload3006
Reload3006

Back to top Go down

Post by hawcer Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:59 am

Don't sweat the small stuff.....it's a 10mm, .001" hear and there won't make any difference to the bad guy. Wink

Using a Dillon?....just be sure to make complete and consistent stokes on every pull.That goes for all presses..
hawcer
hawcer
Mod

Back to top Go down

Post by XbonesX Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:24 pm

i would also add that OAL variation is most likely caused by the imperfections in the bullet tip (meplate). using a progressive press will also cause greater variations due to the tolerances of the machine.

minor variations (i'd say anything under .003") wont cause any problems especially in a handgun as the round isnt headspaced off the bullet tip but the case mouth.
XbonesX
XbonesX
Mod

Back to top Go down

Post by akg20 Tue Oct 11, 2011 4:22 pm

Thanks guys! I really appreciate it.